Thursday August 5th, 2021

Re-posting —> 2012 Border Battle Roster for Team Canada

2012 Slo-Pitch Border Battle Roster

Thursday, December 15, 2011

(Ottawa, ON) Softball Canada is very pleased to release the list of players who have been invited to represent Canada at the fourth edition of the Men’s Slo-Pitch Border Battle, which will take place in Oklahoma City next summer. The Canadian team will play a series of exhibition games in Oklahoma City before playing Team USA in a one-game showdown on June 30th, 2012. The team will also gather in Dorchester, ON in May to participate in the Slo-Pitch Ontario Super Series.

At the inaugural Border Battle in 2009, the United States defeated Canada by a score of 30-23. The following year, Canada bounced back with a thrilling 30-29 victory, while in the third edition, Canada never got going and USA dominated the game by a score of 25-3.

The 2012 Canadian Invitational Team was selected by a panel of Slo-Pitch experts from across the country, and performance at provincial, national and international events was used as one of the major contributors to the selections. While some objective criteria were used to invite the team, it was also recognized that there was a significant subjective element. These elements included such factors as performance, experience, positional requirements, leadership and team cohesion. To be eligible to be invited, the athletes had to be members in good standing of Softball Canada as well as being Canadian citizens, or have a Permanent Resident card.

The Canadian team will feature a new coaching staff in 2012. Grant Garrett (Georgetown, ON) from the 2010 and 2011 Canadian Slo-Pitch Championship gold medalists Tings Moving / Home Run Sports Orioles, and Stephane Chapdelaine (Longueil, QC) from the 2011 Canadian Slo-Pitch Championship silver medalists Team Pharmapar / Combat / Transat will lead the Canadian team for the fourth edition of the Slo-Pitch Border Battle.

'The 2012 Border Battle Team is probably the best hitting team Canada has ever put together in Slo-Pitch' stated Mike Branchaud, Manager of Canadian Championships and Domestic Services for Softball Canada. 'In order to compete with Team USA, we have to score runs. We feel that with this team we can hit for singles and use our homeruns effectively.'

The following athletes have been identified to represent Canada at the 2012 Slo-Pitch Border Battle:

1. Tim Bentley (Chatham, ON)
2. Alain Blais (Maple, ON)
3. Dave Boldt (St. Thomas, ON)
4. Todd Cadenhead (Vaughan, ON)
5. Claude Chiasson (Ste-Julie, QC)
6. Jeff Falardeau (Welland, ON)
7. Olivier Forrest (St-Leonard-d’Aston, QC)
8. Francois Henry (St-Hyacinthe, QC)
9. Jason Gallichen (Langley, BC)
10. Jeff Gare (London, ON)
11. James Kelly (Amherstburg, ON)
12. Chris Parr (Chilliwack, BC)
13. Brad Rankin (Orillia, ON)
14. Ryan Wood (Barrie, ON)
15. Jeff Zanolli (Taber, AB)
16. Luc Chauvette (Trois-Rivières, QC) – Veteran

*Bold denotes new players.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.